Providing Fabulous School Musicals, Songbooks & Music to Schools since 1999
FIRST CLASS UK POSTAGE from just £2.95

Apprentice, The - By Daisy Bond and Ian Faraday

  3 customer reviews  |  Add your review

The Apprentice
Media/Arrangement: Printed Book with CD
Category: Nativity Musical Play - Edgy Productions
Order Code: EP99


‘The story is a cracker and I love the adaptation. It will have lots of appeal simply because it offers something different whilst retaining all of the traditional elements – a child-friendly spin on the nativity. The script and the stage directions get a thumbs-up and the music and lyrics are excellent. Songs are lively, upbeat and well sung by children. They’re also expertly recorded and arranged. It feels as though you’re in safe hands and that, yes, you could do this, even as a non-specialist, and bring mega-watt smiles to parents. The verdict – a pleasure for all.’  - John Dabell, Teach Primary Magazine.

Product Description

Simeon is a kind old carpenter from Bethlehem, in need of an apprentice to share his heavy workload. A young girl called Sarah is an unlikely candidate, but soon proves herself both skilful and talented. Good job too, as these skills and talents are really put to the test one starry night, when it seems that everyone in Bethlehem needs a bit of woodwork doing!

The contents of this musical nativity play have been designed to minimise the time and effort required to rehearse and produce this performance, such that staging 'The Apprentice' will be a thoroughly enjoyable experience for all adults and children involved. The accompanying CD contains vocal versions of all the songs to help the cast learn them, backing tracks for performances and continuity and incidental musical where scenes require. The piano score has a vocal line and guitar chords. The script is accompanied by detailed staging suggestions and directions and can, of course, be adapted to suit your own needs.

Book and CD Pack includes full script with staging tips; a CD of vocal tracks, backing tracks, continuity music and sound effects; and a piano score with voice line and guitar chords. The CD-ROM pack version replaces the wire-bound A4 book and includes the script and score in both PDF and MS Word files on the CD-ROM, allowing you to re-write or individualise the text, dialogue and lyrics to suit your needs; and to print as many scripts as you require from your PC (the CD-ROM pack also includes an audio CD of music as with the Book and CD version).

Approximate Duration: 50 minutes (KS1) or 60 minutes (KS2)


1) Life’s Good
2) Scratch My Back
3) The Lucky Ones
4) Spick And Span
5) Side By Side
6) Stars Over Bethlehem
7) I’ve Broken My Box
8) Fill Your Hearts


[ Return to top ]